Lancer Evo

Discussion in '8G Lancer - General Information' started by FrozenPhoenix, Mar 21, 2011.

1. FrozenPhoenix

FrozenPhoenix Member

Hello All, I am new to the forum. I have a BMW and will always love BMWs, but I am hoping to get another car, and I saw a Lancer Evo. I must say, I was amazed and I was seriously considering one as my next car. Until I saw the price tag.

Being a student, I'm not looking to drop that much on an Evo. But I know the Lancer has the same body-style and I really like it too. I can see that the body is different, and I'm sure that the performance of the Evo is far better.

But seeing as it is out of my price range, what are the differences between the Evo and the standard lancer (Exterior, Interior, Engine, Suspension, etc)? I'm sorry, I know this is a stupid question, but I don't know much about Lancers. Thanks for all the help!

2. FrozenPhoenix

FrozenPhoenix Member

By the way, I was talking about the current lancer (2007+)
    Sorry if I didn't make that clear.

3. Jogenmaru

Jogenmaru Well-Known Member

The evo is awd and turbo. Lancer makes 125 hp to the wheels and evo make 239 hp to the wheels. Also, the transmission is better. You can turbo a lancer but only if you get the standard or auto version. There hasn't been a reliable kit made for the cvt transmission yet. Most of those who buy a cvt end up doing n/a mods. There is also a gts model which is 2.4L unlike the lancer or evos 2.0L. That model makes around 145 hp at the wheels. This is for the usa market of course.

Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk

4. Jogenmaru

I would consider getting the evo 8 or evo 9 for power over the evo 10 which you are currently looking at. Although the evo 10 will be the last one made. So get it now while its not rare. Everyone seems to think the evo 8 and 9 are true rally cars where as the 10 is more a luxury car and can't do everything the 8/9 can.

5. Belgaram

Belgaram Well-Known Member